Help A Reader!

20 Dec

Name: Jasprin Smith
Email: jlasbeautique@gmail.com
Your Questions: Susan,

I am looking to start a lip gloss line to go with a business I am starting.  I don’t want a full blown cosmetics line, only lip gloss.  Do you have any recommendations for companies that do packaging and labeling of lip gloss?  I am going to use my own formula, I just need the packaging.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Jasprin

6 Responses to “Help A Reader!”

  1. Jenni@YourBeautyIndustry December 20, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    Hi Jasprin, M&H Plastics make cosmetics packaging http://www.mhplastics.com/ and Royston Labels do labelling for cosmetics http://www.roystonlabels.co.uk/index.shtml. I hope this helps! Jenni

  2. Hannah January 10, 2013 at 6:06 am #

    Dear Suzan,

    I’m Hannah. I would like to ask you a question. I am about to enter university and am interested in the cosmetics industry, but my parents want me to get a degree that are the sort that “guarantees” me a stable job and a good future, you know the typical kinds like doctors or pharmacists. However, I really want to make this decision for myself. May I know what did you study when you were in university? and if you have any suggestions for me as I’m pretty lost about my future. My favourite subjects in school were chemistry and mathematics.

    Looking forward to hearing from you! =)

    PS. Great Blog!!!

    • susanchyi January 21, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

      Hey Hannah,

      Sorry for the late reply, it’s been a little manic here but I read your query and spent a lot of time mulling over it. It’s a conundrum really isn’t it, the typical story of wanting to both please your parents, get that degree and that “backup plan” as well as follow your heart and start your little enterprise. I did Economics at university, and for a long time I thought I wanted to go into investment banking (remember this was in the 90s when investment bankers made 6-figure bonuses and I thought this was my fast track out of student dorms and cheap canteen food!).

      You know, as much as I believe in entrepreneurship, going out there and experimenting with your ideas while you’re young, listening to your “inner voice” and following your dreams, I believe getting a formal education and everything that you learn while doing that are just as important. If you’re in such a privileged position where your parents are able to afford to send you to uni, why throw that away? Get that degree but open your eyes and learn more than what is being taught in your lecture halls. Network, go to those amazing business conferences that are mostly discounted for students, read up on your passion in your vast (and free!) university library, find a mentor and arm yourself with a wealth of knowledge that will enable you to then go into the cosmetics industry with much more confidence and perhaps even proven concepts. Be passionate but be smart, you don’t have to choose between having a degree or pursuing what you love. You can have it both, you can have it all! Best of luck, Susan.

    • Ashley Thompson March 8, 2013 at 6:01 am #

      Hannah, I went through the exact same thing. I graduated high school with my cosmetology license which guaranteed me many jobs, but I felt as if i would be selling myself short not attending college and acquiring more knowledge in other fields of interest while I had the opportunity. I am pretty laid back and I love art, but everyone around me told me I wouldn’t make any money begin an artist after taking so many art classes at community college. After 3 years I transfer to a University and began to study business. During this journey to get a bachelors in General Business I totally lost all motivation and then I made the greatest decision I ever mad. I went after what made me truly happy and I haven’t looked back since I changed my major to graphic design and finally pursuing my very own cosmetic line. I’d rather be happy and broke than making all the money in the world and being miserable and dread going to work everyday. I am in my 6th years o f college and finally approaching graduation after lots of money and time wasted trying to please everyone. I just wanted to tell you do whatever makes you happy, some people may not agree with your decisions, but in the end it’s your life and you are the one that has to live it. You’d be surprised at the support and satisfaction you get once you go after your dreams. My parents are my biggest fans and the greatest support system and everyone that encouraged me to take on a promising profession is right by my side cheering me on every step of the way in my journey.

  3. Ashley January 25, 2013 at 11:07 am #

    Hi, First I’d like to express the excitement that ran through me when I found this blog. I am currently reseaching private label companies to start a small line of my own (Mainly lipsticks/lipgloss). However, all this research has yielded more confusion. I want to use the name I created, as well as my ideas for packaging & labeling. Also I want to add personal touches (custom beyond their p&l) that these companies might not offer. Okay to the point- I could use any help/advice on how to play out this vision. Hope to hear from you I would greatly appreciate it! Love what I see.

    • susanchyi January 31, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

      Hi Ashley,

      I know it’s frustrating when you want something truly customized but can’t really afford the large volume commitments that this entails. Unfortunately, this is a trade-off that we need to live with at this moment in the beauty industry. Small orders will call for more rigid customizations (choose among 2-3 component options, print your logo or label without much choice for logo placements, insertion into a single-sized box). The larger your orders (usually a minimum of 10,000 pcs for componentry alone), the more customization options you have. Even at that point, you may still get that odd “no, we can’t do it”. If you’re able to get super creative, you may just bypass all this (buy pans and stick it into packaging that no one expects ala Jeanine Lobell @ Stila when she first started using paperboard rolls to hold her eye shadows..genius!). Do your homework, look through design / architecture blogs, speak to as many people as you can, get inspired and get cracking! All the best, Susan xx

Leave a Reply

