Sneak Peek : Featherweight Cream-To-Powder Blush

23 Apr

I’ve finally managed to put together the formulation and primary packaging of So Susan‘s new Featherweight Cream-To-Powder blush, which is my version of a creamy silk-based blush that even oily skins can wear for colour that lasts up to 8 hours. Here’s a picture of it (sorry I didn’t manage to get it professionally taken, but seeing as it’s for my blog, I think this is much more authentic!) :

I think the most difficult thing for any formulator is to choose the right shades as well as the right NUMBER of shades. I had over 200+ shades to choose from and let me tell you, whittling it down to just 7 took me 2 full weeks, and hours upon hours of testing it on different skin tones (thank you Shabana, Lee & all your amazing volunteers!).

This formulation is one I’m extremely proud of. It lives up to So Susan‘s mantra for solving skin dilemmas and I’m ever so grateful to my italian counterparts for making it just the way I want it. My apologies Federica for what may have seemed like hundreds of tweaks, but a big thank you for making it happen! And within budget too… that always puts a huge smile on my face.

The primary is a mirrored 37mm compact electroplated in gold. It feels lovely and heavy in my hands, and gives just the right “click” when I close it (very important!). My next post will be about an amazing courier company (yes, even better than Fast Lane Couriers which I spoke about it this post), which has allowed me to send & receive packaging samples from China & Taiwan at amazing prices, and even better service. They were instrumental in delivering these gold compacts to me on time, so keep your eyes peeled for that post!

2 Responses to “Sneak Peek : Featherweight Cream-To-Powder Blush”

  1. Celene December 20, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    did you custom formulate this product? OR did you have a contract manufacturer formulate for you? or did u go the private label route?

    • susanchyi December 20, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

      Hi Celene, I worked with a cosmetics chemist on this particular formulation and then sent it to a contract manufacturer in Italy who will then further work with my chemist to scale up properly. It’s a bit tricky with pressed powders as it not only depends on the actual formulation, but the pressing pressure & process as well especially during mass production. But a good contract manufacturer should be able to work well enough with your chemist to emulate the final texture that you want.

Leave a Reply

