Reader Question

8 Feb

“I’m so glad I’ve come across your blog I’ve been looking everywhere for help! I’m a 16 year-old looking to start a small business-like system just to make a small profit and possibly mess around and see if starting a makeup business could be long term. I’m at the great age where people respect kids with big ideas and where there’s no taxes and not too many consequences should it fail. I am so ready to start this, makeovers, makeup for dances and descent priced makeup etc. is in a good demand in my area. However, I’m going to need makeup that I can re-sell.I have money to invest for the cost of makeup but I’d still like to keep it low budget. Help?”

You could definitely start with all the private label manufacturers that I mention in previous posts. Another great way of getting started if you’re on a really low budget (and this is great for anyone at any age, in fact the younger you start a business, the more you learn at a greater pace), is to make your own. Go to a website like Bramble Berry where you can learn to mix & hot pour your own lip balms, lipsticks, soaps, etc… Another great website is TKB Trading, I’ve actually bought some pigments from them before to mix before I hand over to the lab to further develop into larger vats. They’re a a great place to start if you want to make your own nail polishes (it’s really quite ingenious!), eye shadows (and I mean those you press in a pan, very professional-looking albeit tedious), mineral powders, lipsticks (complete with metal lipstick moulds which are SO difficult to source for!), etc… I am quite impressed with their array of products. The only problem I find is the inconsistency in their colour pigments. Once we re-ordered the exact same red (I think it was red 7 lake), and it came out in an entirely different shade. On the whole though, cheap & cheerful ingredients to start you off.
Best of luck!
xx Susan.
4 Responses to “Reader Question”

  1. kristina March 10, 2014 at 10:15 pm #

    this is very helpful. I saw your jelly pong pong and I would like to know where I can get a packaging like stila? If this is something you don’t mind sharing. Thank you so much!

    • susanchyi March 17, 2014 at 9:08 am #

      Hi Kristina,

      Stila first started the paper tube packaging from this company : Chicago Paper Tube and Can Company, here’s their website : http://www.chicagopapertube.com/

      Hope that helps 🙂

      xx Susan

  2. Jane Perry January 5, 2015 at 7:53 pm #

    You mention metal lipstick molds. Is it possible to obtain the plastic molds as the metal one are priced too high for me (a beginner)

Leave a Reply

