Who Prints Our Packaging?

6 Oct

Just received delivery of the secondaries of our new mineral foundation SPF 15 range. After all this time, I still get excited at the littlest things. It’s a culmination of months of working at every single detail, from formulating with the right ingredients, to designing the packaging (and rejecting soooo many prototypes), getting the text right, proof-reading,proof-reading,proof-reading. I am a stickler for the perfect text with zero typos. Getting every single colour right, this is particularly difficult when working with gradient backgrounds (colours that run from one shade to another, mixing in the middle to create a different one).

OK, one of the questions I constantly get asked by customers, trade press & everyone in between is where we source our fantastic packaging. This is an early Christmas present for you guys, I am finally going to reveal our printing source (yes, we have exclusively been working with ONE printer since we started, literally unheard of in this extremely price-sensitive, fickle industry). His name is… (long drumroll here)…

Chan of Optima Printers and he’s based in little ole Penang, my beautiful island in Malaysia. Here’s his email : optimaprinters@gmail.com.

Sorry no website, Optima is a family business that he runs single-handedly and he’s been with us right from the very beginning. There is absolutely nothing in paper he can’t make – remember those boxes with zips that we designed for our Teint Sublime primer? Or what about those 3D pop-up boxes for Gourmet Lip Therapy? Not to mention those cloth-bound, mini spy-books that we made together for Milk & Liquorice.

Here’s a big THANK YOU shout-out to Chan, we love working with you!

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Who Prints Our Packaging?”

  1. Ashley September 12, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

    Your blog is absolutely amazing–i’m sure you already know that, but I wanted to reiterate!!! I almost wanted to cry because of your generosity and how much of blessing you have been to me in just the short time of reading this blog–(one day to be exact!!)

    You know the hardest thing about this business is answering the question “why would anyone want to buy from me?” And that’s the problem i’m having along with all the basic questions about insurance and how to properly test a product. I know you get a lot of request but I think all of your readers would benefit from knowing more about those two subjects. We all are eager to jump into this industry and be successful but we do forget about the responsibility that we have to our customers and what we should do if something goes wrong. Oh, and I am definitely going to try your products they look wonderful. I’m thoroughly impressed and motivated all in one.

    Ash L

  2. handeys-beauty December 25, 2013 at 11:37 pm #

    I always emailed this weblog post page to all my contacts, as if
    like to read it next my contacts will too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reader Question « - December 19, 2011

    […] in Malaysia (where incidentally I’m from), and about whom I’ve written before in a previous post. A family business, I’ve never seen any other bulk printer who is as passionate about paper […]

  2. Reader Question : Who Develops Our Formulations? « A behind-the-scenes look into a cosmetics company - March 10, 2012

    […] or secondary packaging. I believe I have spoken at length about primary and more particularly secondary packaging providers. If you have the means to order bulk formulations, make time and hand-pour them into your own […]

Leave a Reply

