My Adventures with PR

26 Sep

I’ve put on so many hats when I first launched Jelly Pong Pong that I’ve had to take on so many different personas i.e. as a PR rep, a marketer, a salesperson, a cosmetics formulator, a lease negotiator, etc… One of my first “jobs” when working for myself was in PR and though it makes business owners wring with fear, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Making those cold calls, pitching the ideas, writing the press releases (I’m sure I wrote absolutely horrid convoluted ones, you have so many ideas in your head & get so passionate about your own brand, you just want to spew them out on paper) was an absolute pleasure when you then see your product on an editorial page. When I landed a product in Vogue’s millenium edition (I remember the beauty editor then, Jordana Reuben, requested 8.. yes EIGHT… full sized samples of ALL the products I was pitching. Multiply that by 10 products, and you’re talking about sending 80 pieces, a hefty investment for a company functioning from home, with no guarantee of a feature), it didn’t matter what I spent to get the products to her, or the hours on the phone trying to even have a 2-minute conversation with her. It went straight into the beauty pages, taking up 1/4 of a full page which would have cost me $30k in advertising costs alone.

Today, in order to learn more about this important division in my company (literally our bread-and-butter), I go through blogs written by PRs who are pros in their field (especially beauty PR) & have recently discovered a wonderful one by Alexis Rodriguez called ThePRCloset. Alexis, who’s Bobbi Brown’s PR, gives wonderful insights to a typical day at work as well as PR tips and strategies.

I also thoroughly enjoy PR Couture which is more fashion-based and gives important insights and interviews to the daily grind of an industry which is so heavily intertwined with mine.

Leave a Reply

